Frequently asked questions
Purchase and storage
While choosing a packaging, the protection of the product as well as user friendliness need to be warranted. Furthermore, environmental topics gain a continuously more important role. Of course we need to take priorities here, since it is hard to find a material which fulfills all requirements at the same time. With regard to this situation we decided for polypropylen - a material that is tried and tested and is very often used in the food industry. Since we use a mono-material (= consists of only one plastic), it can easily be recycled. In addition to that we reviewed our whole packaging concepts and saved redundant packaging material. To find out what measures we have taken, please see here.
Ingredients and nutritional values
Spelt has to be declared as an allergen. As spelt is botanically seen a type of wheat, it is not sufficient to declare it as “spelt” in the ingredients list. A clear reference to the specific type of the cereal, i.e. "wheat" is required by law. As a result the following declaration "spelt wheat" is used. It is, however, not a mixture of spelt and wheat. The quality of our products remains the same.
This highly depends on the individual variety and the ingredients used. You can find a detailed overview for each product on the corresponding product page, e.g. here for our crispbread Cheese & Pumpkin Seed. The grains and seeds as well as the olive oil used in our delights give your body "positive" unsaturated fatty acids. However, they also cause the amount of calories to be slightly higher than e. g. in regular crispbread. Unsaturated fatty acids have lots of positive characteristics, some of which we describe here. This is why we think that sometimes, you can have "one calorie more" in good conscience.
The term "vegan" has not yet been regulated uniformly in food law. However, the Ministers for Consumer Protection of the German federal states have proposed a legally binding definition of the term "vegan". According to this definition, any food is vegan if it does not contain any products of animal origin, and if, in any production and processing step of this food, no
- ingredients (including additives, carrier substances, flavouring agents and enzymes) or
- processing aids or
- non-food additives, used in the same manner and for the same purpose as processing aids, of animal origin were added or used in processed or unprocessed form.
Our vegan varieties are marked with a vegan icon, which is displayed on our packaging. You can also find this icon on the variety pages of our homepage.
Generally speaking, many of our products are a source of protein thanks to the high amount of linseeds in them.
For all those who put an emphasis on protein in their diet we have our Pumpkin Seeds Protein thins, our Protein Thins Sesame & Linseeds. and our Protein Thins Emmental Cheese. With fewer carbohydrates and naturally high in protein.
Most people suffering from coeliac disease tolerate gluten-free oat very well. A small percentage, however, may react allergically to the protein avenin, which is contained in oat. In any case of doubt, please contact your physician or nutritionist before consuming gluten-free oat products.